Begin With Me: Part 1

23 Oct

I am no professional photographer – nowhere near it for that matter (I only just recently started learning how to use a manual camera). However, I do believe that, for the level I am at, I have a fairly good eye for composition. In addition, I not only have an extreme passion for editing photos (probably even more than taking them), but also (I think) a good eye for what effects/tweaks etc. may look good or interesting on a photograph in post and what may not.

In starting this blog, I feel it necessary to first look at my own work and critique it before critiquing or discussing others’. And so, we begin with me: The photos I’ll mainly be looking at right now are from my trip to the UK in July 2011. For those who don’t know me too well, I’m a bit of a Brit-Obsesso so I was completely in my element on this trip. I wanted to photograph anything and everything – better to have more than less right? I especially wanted to explore Cornwall and its relationship with the Arthurian Legend. Naturally, we first visited Tintagel where, legend has it, is King Arthur’s birth place but also got the opportunity to discover places such as St. Michael’s Mount, The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Stonehenge, Bath as well as some of the local, quaint towns in each area. While this trip was a vacation (with my parents), it was the first time I felt liberated by my surroundings; every stone, every wall, every bridge, every tea shop, and every doorway seemed exciting. Each place wreaked of history and nostalgia and I wanted to know every inch of its past. Places and objects of the past seem to have that effect on you, perhaps because rediscovery ensures that the past remains with us and that nothing is lost between the cracks and wrinkles made by time. And what better way is there to freeze the past than by photographing it? Often times, if you’re lucky, photographs capture something (a mood, an object, an idea) that you didn’t notice in the first place.

Confession: First off, it’s important to note that the below images were taken with an automatic digital camera. As a result, I thought it best to tackle analyzing the composition of the photos, an element that (for the most part) was in my control, rather than elements such as aperture or shutter speed.

With that out-of-the-way, I thought I would start off with a couple landscape shots before jumping to photographs of the main castle ruins and sites. Some of my favourite subjects to photograph are usually long, winding roads/pathways or spiral staircases because of the vast depth of field they give to a photo. They seem to imbue a sense of infinite mystery…and with mystery always comes curiosity. It’s as though the photograph is pulling you in:

3 elements: Symmetry, Lines, & a deep depth of field. I always felt symmetry & lines were helpful elements in drawing one’s attention to the main focus point of an image – I tried using the symmetrical railings on either side of the bridge along with a deep depth of field to focus your eyes on the length & depth of the bridge. This focus, in combination with the photo’s landscape, lends itself to a sense of mystery and wonder. The sides of the bridge, overpowered by the nature that surrounds them, are crawling with overgrown ivy & foliage. It’s not just a photograph – it tells a story. It makes you wonder where the bridge leads, what it’s for, and what mysteries lie in its past. It’s the viewer’s job to imagine the answers.  Location: The Arthurian Centre, Camelford, Cornwall, UK

Low Angles: I tried to shoot this staircase from a low angle, elongating the staircase and also slightly exaggerating the size of the nearby stones, which adds that bizarre and fantastical mood to the photo.   Location: St. Michael’s Mount, Marazion, Cornwall, UK

More to come soon!

Sources used: http://digital-photography-school.com/5-elements-of-composition-in-photography#

5 Responses to “Begin With Me: Part 1”

  1. Gracie October 23, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Excellent images. I like the second photo a lot, the composition and the perspective, it is an open invitation to walk up those steps.

    • nasheer05 October 25, 2012 at 11:40 am #

      Thanks Gracie! That is exactly the effect I was going for. I love low angles – they give us a perspective we rarely get to see.

  2. travellingbag October 24, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    This blog is perfectly timed for me. I’m not much of a photographer, point and shoot is about where I’m at. But, next May I’m heading for Everest Base Camp and I intend to come back with some amazing photos. So … I’m looking into buying a new camera and taking a photography course before I go.

    • nasheer05 October 25, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Thanks for the follow and the comment travellingbag! I’m at the same place and really trying to get more experience with a manual camera – it’s tough at first – takes a lot of fiddling and practice but definitely a lot of fun. Your trip sounds awesome – you should definitely blog about it and put up the photos you take. Let me know what class you end up taking – I’d love to do something like that at somepoint as well.

  3. lensandpensbysally October 25, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Thanks you for becoming a “Follower.” Now I can stroll through your site.

Leave a Reply

Spare Blog

Spare Blog

noor of my heart

"there is light in my weird skin."

Edge of the Arctic

Tales of a Yankee adventurer in Norway

Lens and Pens by Sally

a weekly blog that creates a personal philosophy through photographs and words

Travellingbag

Taking you there

Plus Ultra

Stories and photographs from places “further beyond”.

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Tellurian Media

Tellurian: "Of, or characteristic of, the earth or its inhabitants; terrestrial."

